Back Home 5 Committee 5 Technology & Law

Technology & Law

The Law Association Technology & Law Committee keeps a watching brief on a wide range of issues including the law on social media, online bullying and privacy, artificial intelligence, digital security, storage of personal data by private entities and government agencies, and data protection regulations.

The Committee also keeps a watching brief on case law under the Harmful Digital Communications Act. Each year committee members draft articles containing expert commentary on a wide range of technology and law issues for a special technology and law edition of LawNews.


Committee members, October 2022 – September 2024:

  1. Lloyd Gallagher – Managing Partner, Gallagher & Co Consultants (Committee Convenor)
  2. Edwin Lim – Partner, Hudson Gavin Martin
  3. Steven Moe – Partner, Perry Field Lawyers
  4. Amy Kingston-Turner – Director, Source Legal Partners
  5. Andrew Easterbrook – Director, Webb Ross McNab Kilpatrick
  6. Tegan Hall – Associate, Gallaway Cook Allan
  7. Philip McHugh – Lawyer, Grayson Clements
  8. Luke Han – Solicitor, MinterEllisonRuddWatts

Equal Justice Project (EJP) student representatives on the Committee, 2023 calendar year:

  • Avneet Bin, Law student at the University of Auckland

Interested in joining the Committee?

Applications for Committee membership for October 2022 – September 2024 have closed. However if you remain interested in joining, please email