Back Home 5 Committee 5 Health & Safety Law

Health & Safety Law

The Health & Safety Law Committee was established to monitor the development of case law under the Health and Safety at Work Act 2015 and to provide regular updates to members through LawNews articles and CPD training. The Committee has a diverse composition of key players in the field including private practice lawyers, lawyers employed by Worksafe, prosecutors and insurers. The committee also plans and presents at CPD seminars on topical issues in health and safety law.

Interested to join?

Perhaps more than ever before, the profession is aware of how quickly the world and the law can change. The Committee will look to advocate for the best outcomes for all of those in NZ workplaces and for the improvement of the legal process for those dealing with accidents and preventing accidents.

If you are passionate about making a difference in this area of law and/or in the outcomes for victims of workplace accidents, please consider joining the Committee. While applications for the term October 2022 – September 2024 have now closed, strong applications will still be considered.

Junior lawyers with some knowledge in this area of law, who share the same vision and are willing to dedicate to the work of this Committee, are encouraged to apply as well.


The Committee meets once a month in-person for an hour on the fourth Thursday of each month at 1pm. An online option is offered to out-of-town members to participate in the monthly meetings.

Committee members are expected to contribute in:

  • Drafting of submissions, Bills, and/or letters;
  • Writing articles, or being interviewed, for LawNews; and/or
  • Assisting The Law Association CPD.

Committee members, October 2022 – September 2024:

  1. Brett Harris – Barrister sole (Committee Convenor)
  2. Tim Clarke – Barrister, Richmond Chambers
  3. Grant Nicholson – Partner, Anthony Harper
  4. Neil Beadle – Special Counsel, Wotton + Kearney
  5. Penny Bower – Head of Legal, Waste Management
  6. John Rooney – Partner, Simpson Grierson
  7. Angus Everett – Senior Solicitor, WorkSafe New Zealand
  8. Sue Petricevic – Barrister sole, Vulcan Chambers
  9. Myriam Mitchell – Partner, Copeland Ashcroft
  10. Jessica Blythe – Partner, Meredith Connell
  11. Sanja Woodhead – Senior Associate, Luke Cunningham Clere
  12. Edwin Boshier – Senior Associate, Duncan Cotterill

Applications for Committee membership for October 2022 – September 2024 have closed. However if you remain interested in joining please email


No Submissions at this time.