Back Home 5 Committee 5 Employment Law

Employment Law

The Employment Law Committee is comprised of practitioners who specialise in employment law and work for firms, private in-house teams, unions and as sole practitioners and barristers. The Committee liaises closely with a wide range of stakeholders in the employment law sector including the Employment Court, Employment Relations Authority, WorkSafe and other employment-related institutions such as trade unions. The committee assists with the development of the well-attended Burning Issues in Employment Law Forum and also hosts an annual dinner for employment law practitioners, mediators, and judges.

Committee members, October 2022 – September 2024:

  1. Catherine Stewart – Barrister, Catherine Stewart Barrister (Committee Convenor)
  2. Graeme Colgan – Barrister sole
  3. Philip Skelton KC – Barrister sole, Bankside Chambers
  4. John Hannan – Barrister sole, Bankside Chambers
  5. Rob Towner – Barrister sole, Richmond Chambers
  6. Helen Gilbert – Barrister sole
  7. David Fleming – Barrister sole, Fleming Singleton Law
  8. Jenni-Maree Trotman – Barrister sole
  9. Mark Donovan – Barrister sole, Chancery Chambers
  10. Gary Pollak – Sole Practitioner, Garry Pollak & Co
  11. Jodi Sharman – Partner, Hesketh Henry
  12. Shelley Kopu – Director, Shelley Kopu Law
  13. Simon Lapthorne – Partner, Kiely Thompson Caisley
  14. Daniel Erickson – Partner, Tompkins Wake
  15. Catherine Pendleton – Principal, Turner Hopkins
  16. Rosemary Wooders – Partner, Bell Gully
  17. Kieron Creagh – Senior Associate, Russell McVeagh
  18. Hannah King – Senior Associate, MinterEllisonRuddWatts
  19. Rebecca White – Senior Associate, LangtonHudsonButcher
  20. Helen Pryde – Special Counsel, Buddle Findlay
  21. India Townshend – Senior Associate, Simpson Grieson
  22. Astrid Sandberg – Senior Workplace Relations Manager, Air New Zealand
  23. Bronwen Newcombe – General Counsel, North Shore Toyota
  24. Matthew Dearing – Legal Counsel, First Security Guard
  25. David Sparks – Case Worker, Rotorua District Community Law Centre
  26. William Fussey – Associate, Anderson Lloyd
  27. Simon Schofield – Professional Teaching Fellow, University of Auckland


Equal Justice Project (EJP) student representatives on the Committee, 2023 calendar year:

  • Niamh Forgie – University of Auckland

Interested in joining the committee?

Thank you for your interest. This Committee is currently at full complement and is not recruiting new members.