Back Home 5 Committee 5 Documents & Precedents

Documents & Precedents

The Documents and Precedents Committee is a cornerstone of The Law Association ⁠and was established in response to the profession’s need for reliable and universally accepted forms. The Committee has an unparalleled record of producing high quality standard forms and precedents, including the prestigious Agreement for Sale and Purchase of Real Estate and the Commercial Deed of Lease. Its continued success lies in attracting specialist lawyers from a range of property and commercial disciplines who have a passion for the role of the forms, the provision of high quality and accurate drafting advice, and who like finding practical solutions for lawyers in light of constant developments in legislation and practice.

The principal functions of the Committee are to ensure that documents currently published by The Law Association are constantly revised to take account of legislative changes and the impact of case law and to expand the range of documents and precedents currently offered by The Law Association. The Committee is always interested to hear from practitioners with proposals for other forms required in the market and are welcome to contact the Committee Secretary, Jenna Tau by email ⁠ with comments and suggestions.

Upcoming Focus

The Committee, and its sub-committees, intend to revise the following documents in 2022 – 2023:

  • Agreement for Sale and Purchase of Real Estate – to bring it in line with new disclosure requirements when the associated regulations under the Unit Titles (Strengthening Body Corporate Governance and Other Matters) Amendment Act 2022;
  • Mortgagee sale-related documents; and
  • Forms in relation to commercial leases.

The Committee, and its sub-committees, will also commence/continue their work in a range of new documents and forms, that meets the needs of the current property and commercial markets.

Interested to join?

The Committee invites current practitioners who possess strong drafting skills to join this prestigious Committee for the current term (October 2022 – September 2024). Please get in touch with the Committee Secretary.


The Committee meets once a month for an hour, on the fourth Monday of each month at 1pm. Sub-committees meet more frequently as and when required. There is a medium to heavy volume of email communication during the month and Committee members are expected to review drafts, provide their comments, feedback and approvals by email in between formal monthly meetings.

In return, Committee members’ contribution will be acknowledged in a wide range of medium, as well as the likelihood to be recognised as a subject matter expert in relation to any document and form they drafted.


Joanna Pidgeon


Committee members, October 2022 – September 2024:

  1. Joanna Pidgeon – Director, Pidgeon Judd (Committee Convenor)
  2. Justin March – Partner, DLA Piper
  3. Elise Markwick – Partner, Martelli McKegg
  4. Tony Herring – Partner, Gibson Sheat
  5. Alexandra Low – Barrister sole
  6. Peter Orpin – Special Counsel, Lane Neave
  7. Nicole Warner – Senior Associate, Glaister Ennor
  8. Rebekah Mapson – Senior Solicitor, Anderson Lloyd
  9. Katrina Wood – Partner, Saunders Robinson Brown

Applications for Committee membership for October 2022 – September 2024 have closed. However if you remain interested in joining please email


No Submissions at this time